So in my last post I mentioned that I was in Ponsonby this afternoon. That was beacuse I needed to pay a little visit to the Immigration Medical Services. Oh joy.

Not that they aren’t nice – they are absolutely lovely people there at the White Cross. It’s just that this is just one more, but tiny (and expensive!) step on the path to becoming a permanent resident of New Zealand. So far I’ve been safe on a partnership visa, but I’ve decided to take the final step and stop this endless process of applications, letters, medicals and whatnot (and, since Norway doesn’t allow joint citizenship unless under very specific circumstances, I have no other choice). My visa doesn’t run out yet. In fact, I’m safe till the end of November. However, my sources tell me that it takes about 6-9 months even for the application to be looked at, so I guess I’d better hurry up. I’ll be working my way through the list, police certificates now crossed off, and next on my list, the translation of various documents.

What Mr M found hysterically funny, though, was that I got a discount at the White Cross, just because I’d been there before… for my previous visa. Jeez. I’m collecting – buy nine and you get the tenth one free…

